Celestial Knight

Heya people.

Like I promised, there were some exciting things happening (for me that is). Today my order at Kabuki Studio was delivered. A week ago, I ordered their Celestial Knight miniature which, as some of you may already know, represents the God-Emperor of Mankind. Emperor box

Better even, it represents the Emperor in his prime, being in the Horus Heresy. So to start with this, I opened the package and checked the parts. Emperor part

The model is just packed with details, but keeping in mind that his entire armor will be painted in gold, this would give me a lot of edge-highlight work to do. Looking at the models’ parts I also noticed that there were very little to no mouldlines at all (here there some small, but that what you get when casting with moulds and resin). Same goes for flash, which was almost not present, except for the parts were certain parts were close to eachother, like in between the feathers of the eagle and in between his arm and the guard of the sword. Also,included with the model is a base with a round lip and unusual size to Warhammer (which would be used for gametypes like Warmachine and possibly Infinity) and a scenic base of some sort of flight deck or walkway. Overall, the parts look excellent. They were not casted with a block of resin underneath, like I am used to when ordering models from Forgeworld. What you see in the picture is how it is actually delivered.

After all the parts were cleaned up, I started to assemble the model. One of the things you’ll notice when opening the blister as well is that it does not come with an assembly guide of some sort. But the model is so straightforward in building, all the parts are self-explanatory. If need be, check the card/blister front for the exact location of the parts. But I put this model up in under 5 minutes. Once it’s done it really looks awesome. Ball-jointed shoulderjoints allow you to pose the model as you see fit regarding the poses of the arms and the same goes for the head. In his lightning claw is a small slot in which you can attach the foot of the double-headed eagle that comes with it. I personally chose not to attack the eagle, but I still assembled it, just for fun and to show you guys the set in it’s entirety.

I will fill the slot up with some greenstuff and after that he will be basecoated and put into the paintline.

So that’s it for now. I hope you enjoyed this as much as I am still enjoying it. All in all, this is a fantastic model detail-wise, it’s super easy to assemble and it’ll give me a lot of fun painting him. I hope that I can start working on him soon and show you guys how it turned out.

See you in the next post

Leave a Reply

