The Lord of Drakes

Heya people.

It’s been a while since I last posted something. I am very sorry. The last year has seen some major troubles, domestic and personal, so I had little time and motivation at that point to keep this up. But I am back, alive and kicking, and to jump right in, I got something for you.

halfway through this week I finished my next Primarch model. Here’s Vulkan, Lord of Drakes, the Promethean Son, Primarch of the XVIIIth Salamanders Legion.

First things first. THE DETAILS!!!! There are a lot on this Primarch. And as if that wasn’t enough, there had te be extra details on the details. Vulkan has several flame-shaped trims on his gunhand, chest and shoulderguard, which were first painted in several shades of gold, but then there had to be actual flames painted, as if those colors were merging with the gold. After a few attempts, I was happy with the result and used this on the rest of the details as well.

Then there the cloak, which should represent drake scale taken from the Great Drake he had slewn back on Nocturne. For this I started out with a specially mixed dark shade of green, washed and glazed it with washes and green glaze untill I was happy with the base shade, then drybrushed with a lighter green, and fianlly drybrushing only the bigger scaled parts with karak stone, to give it that sense that even the scale is starting to age.

But the base color of his armour was a trick. I didn;t want to go with just one of the basic colors GW supplies, so I had to mix the color from 3 different paints, covered the entire armour with it, then washed and glazed it with several colors of washes and glazes until I was happy with it.

 

Overall seen, I had a lot of fun painting him. It was a bit of a challenge for me, since I have never painted Salamender before and this model is just packed with details, but I think the result is satisfactory. What do you guys think?

 

2 thoughts on “The Lord of Drakes”

Leave a Reply

